Honolulu Negligent Injury Defense Lawyer
Strong Advocacy in Criminal Law Cases
Being accused of negligent injury in a traffic accident is a serious criminal matter that can have various negative consequences for you in the future. This type of charge involves bodily injury caused to another person while driving or through the use of a vehicle. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony for this offense will depend on the extent of injury caused and other circumstances, such as if you were driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
When facing such a charge, you should immediately enlist the help of a trusted legal professional who can ensure your legal rights are protected and help you with a strong defense. At Landsberg Law Office, we have been providing competent criminal defense representation for many years on the island of Oahu. The work of our Honolulu negligent injury defense attorney has resulted in many successful results and the respect of local judges and prosecutors. We believe in thorough investigation and preparation of all cases so as to create the strongest position possible for all of our clients. Our aim is to seek the most optimum outcome whether through a case dismissal, reduction of penalties or charges, or in court at trial.
Accused of negligent injury? Say nothing and request our help by contacting us at (808) 468-7292. Your initial consultation is complimentary.
What is Negligent Injury in Hawaii?
Under the Hawaii Penal Code, negligent injury occurs in the following ways:
- First-degree negligent injury involves the serious bodily injury of another by operating your vehicle in a negligent manner or the substantial bodily injury to a vulnerable user by operating your vehicle in a negligent manner
- Second-degree negligent injury is defined as causing substantial bodily injury to another by operating your vehicle in a negligent manner
First-degree negligent injury is charged as a Class C felony. Second-degree negligent injury is charged as a misdemeanor. The law covers negligent injury to not only the occupants of other vehicles but to pedestrians, bicyclists, moped drivers, and other “vulnerable users” who use the roads and highways.
Class C felonies carry penalties of up to five years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. Misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in prison and fines of up to $2,000. If you were found to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will face DUI charges.
Reckless Driving in Hawaii
Being charged with reckless driving is not just a minor traffic ticket. It is charged as a misdemeanor with penalties of up to 30 days in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. You can be charged with reckless driving even if you have not caused bodily injury to anyone. It is described as operating your vehicle in a reckless way that disregards the safety of others.
Many driving behaviors can lead to reckless driving charges, such as speeding, failing to obey traffic signs or signals, making improper lane changes, street racing, failing to yield, and more.
Negligent Homicide Charges
Negligent homicide is another type of negligent injury offense in Hawaii.
Under Hawaii Penal Code, negligent homicide is described as:
- First-degree: causing the death of someone by operating your vehicle in a negligent manner because you were under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs or causing the death of a vulnerable user by operating your vehicle negligently
- Second-degree: causing the death of someone by operating your vehicle negligently or causing the death of a vulnerable user through simple negligence
- Third-degree: causing the death of another by operating your vehicle negligently
A vulnerable user refers to those who use the roads and highways other than the occupants of vehicles only, such as pedestrians, bicyclists, public highway workers, and those using mopeds or wheelchairs.
First-degree negligent homicide is charged as a Class B felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. Second-degree negligent homicide is charged as a Class C felony punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. Third-degree negligent homicide is charged as a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in prison and fines of up to $2,000.
Enlist the Services of a Competent & Aggressive Attorney
As you can see, injuring or killing another through negligent behavior is considered a serious matter that can result in not only criminal penalties but the social penalties of a permanent criminal record, increased auto insurance premiums, potential loss of your driver’s license, and a social stigma. You will need a trusted and prepared defender to help you through this crisis. Landsberg Law Office has handled more than a thousand criminal cases and stands ready to provide you with capable and tenacious legal advocacy.Call our office at (808) 468-7292 to learn more about your situation and your legal options.