Honolulu Assault Crimes Defense Attorney
Experienced & Trusted Legal Help for the Accused
Arrested on assault charges in or around Honolulu? Depending on the circumstances, you could be facing a misdemeanor or a more serious felony charge. A conviction can mean jail time, fines, probation and possibly other court penalties. Preserving your freedom, future, and reputation in such a situation means you will need strong advocacy from a competent and committed attorney.
At Landsberg Law Office, our criminal defense lawyer has handled more than 1,000 cases involving all types of criminal investigations and charges in the state. Attorney Landsberg has earned a positive reputation for thorough preparation based on hard work which has led to many successful outcomes for clients. We urge you to take advantage of the experience, dedication, and tenacity you will find at our firm when facing any type of assault charge.
Arrested for assault? Schedule a free case consultation with a Honolulu assault crimes defense lawyer at (808) 468-7292 or through our online request form.
What Are the Different Assault Charges in Hawaii?
Assault in Hawaii consists of injuring another person without legal justification. It is broken down into two separate felony classes and one misdemeanor.
First-degree assault consists of:
- The intentional and knowing causation of serious bodily injury to another, charged as a Class B felony
Serious bodily injury refers to any physical damage that causes risk of death, loss of function of a body part, or disfigurement. A Class B felony is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. If a gun was used in the assault or you are a repeat offender, you will likely face a mandatory minimum time that must be spent in prison. This also applies if you assaulted someone over the age of 60, younger than nine years old, or a handicapped individual.
Second-degree assault consists of:
- The intentional and knowing causation of substantial physical injury or the reckless causation of serious or substantial injury to someone else
- The person intentionally or knowingly causes bodily injury to another with a dangerous instrument
It is charged as Class C felony punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. A mandatory minimum time in prison will apply if the crime is committed against a person over the age of 60, younger than nine years old, or a handicapped person.
Third-degree assault consists of:
- The intentional, knowing, or reckless causation of physical injury to someone else
- Injuring another person by using a dangerous instrument in a negligent manner
This type of assault may be charged as a misdemeanor or a petty misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances. For example, if you and another person both traded punches in a scuffle at a bar that did not result in any serious injuries, you may be charged with only a petty misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and/or fines of up to $2,000 while a petty misdemeanor is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000.
Protected Classes of People in Assault Cases
Assault against certain public service individuals carry specific charges and penalties. Any kind of assault committed against a law enforcement officer will be charged as a Class C felony. Assaulting an emergency worker will be charged as a Class B felony.
Legal Help from a Trusted Professional
An assault conviction can result in a permanent criminal record that can have detrimental effects for the future. With such a record, you will likely be at a disadvantage when seeking future employment, housing, educational aid, or professional licenses. At Landsberg Law Office, we will fight hard to help you preserve a clean record or to reduce charges or penalties.
Get legal advice and representation by contacting us at (808) 468-7292.